Schools Training

Head to McGill University to Hear the 2015 Giller Prize Longlist!

1 SEP 2015
Career Path : Education News
Giving applause over green background

Sean Michaels—award-winning Candian novelist and last year’s Giller Prize winner—will be announcing the 2015 Giller Prize longlist at McGill University on Wednesday, September 9. Students, aspiring novelists, avid readers and literature fanatics have all been invited to join the announcement in Moyse Hall of the Arts Building at 11 a.m. (RSVP required).

For those who are unfamiliar with the Giller Prize, it was founded back in 1994 by Jack Rabinovitch. Rabinovitch introduced the prize in memory of his wife Doris Giller—a great literary journalist—who passed away from cancer in 1993. The award recognizes excellence in both long format and short works of fiction.

In 2005, the Giller Prize and Scotiabank collaborated to create the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and the award has since become “Canada’s richest literary award for fiction.” While the annual winner is typically awarded a cash prize, last year, Rabinovitch announced that the prize would double, granting $100,000 to the Giller Prize winner, as well as $10,000 to each finalist.


Source: McGill Reporter