Schools Training

Top Three Careers in the Nursing Field

18 FEB 2014
Career Path : Career Tips

While there are many specialties and sub-specialties in nursing, as well as different education and skill requirements for each one, there are several types of nurses that are especially in demand, and in the better compensated areas.

Anesthesia Assistant

An Anesthesia Assistant (AA) is a non-physician anesthesia provider who works under the direct supervision and medical direction of an anesthesiologist. Becoming an AA requires additional education beyond your nursing degree, but you will be well compensated for the additional skills you acquire, and you will work daily at an exciting pace, most likely in the operating theater of a hospital.

Nurse Practitioner

Nurse Practitioners are registered nurses with additional education and experience who are trained to treat the whole person, addressing the needs of the patient’s physical and mental health. Nurse Practitioners are helping Canadians have greater access to quality health care, and can work in hospitals, community clinics, doctors offices, emergency clinics and senior care facilities. Nurse Practitioners are able to diagnose and treat illnesses, order and interpret tests, and write prescriptions. To become a Nurse Practitioner in Canada, nurses must meet certain registration requirements including the successful completion of a Nurse Practitioner program, which are available at Universities across Canada. As with other nursing levels, there are subsets of Nurse Practitioners that may interest you, for interest dealing only with children, or seniors or certain types of medical conditions, like cardiology.

Recognizing the need for new and innovative health care, several provinces have started to recognize additional categories of advanced nursing.

Registered Nurse Surgical First Assist

One exciting classification is the RN-SFA, or Registered Nurse – Surgical First Assist. RN-SFAs collaborate with the surgical team in the operating theater to assist in achieving the ultimate favorable outcome for surgical patients. Hospitals and clinics that have added this position have been able to serve patients more efficiently, by reducing surgical wait times. Operating room experience and additional education are required to become certified as an RN-SFA. General operating room nurses are referred to as perioperative nurses, which is a certification you will have to achieve before setting on the course to become an RN-SFA. Perioperative nursing requires a combination of additional education and experiential training, which can be completed through a school or hospital program.

When you are setting out on the course to decide which kind of nurse discipline is right for you, it will help you if you become familiar with the different options prior to entering a program. Familiarizing yourself with procedures and terminology is a good way to prepare, and the best way to do this is with nursing unit clerk courses, which will give you a good overview of specific nursing language and formatting medical records.

Visit Thompson Career College for more information on nursing unit clerk courses.